Workshop Overview

Date: June 10-11, 2021

Location: This is a virtual event. Online meeting information will be provided upon registration. 

Overview: As part of a National Science Foundation-funded interdisciplinary project supporting informal technology learning among marginalized populations, the Tech and Social Justice Workshop brings together scholars, policymakers, practitioners and citizens concerned with how technology might be used to enhance social justice and better support marginalized populations.  

Workshop Schedule 

Thursday, June 10 

4:00-5:30 p.m. (CDT) - Opening & Keynote

Welcome & Introduction: Ann Brill, Dean, School of Journalism and Mass Communications, University of Kansas; Hyunjin Seo, NSF Project PI, Associate Professor & Director of KU Center for Digital Inclusion  

Keynote: Lucy Bernholz, Director, Digital Civil Society Lab at Stanford PACS & Senior Research Scholar, Stanford PACS 

Friday, June 11 

9:30-10:30 a.m. (CDT) -  Panel: "Digital Inclusion During COVID-19" 

Moderator: Patricia Gaston, Lacy C. Haynes Professor, University of Kansas & former editor at The Washington Post 

Panelists: Angela Siefer, Executive Director, National Digital Inclusion Alliance; Stanley Adams, Director, KS Office of Broadband Development; Aaron Deacon, Managing Director, KC Digital Drive; Tom Esselman, Executive Director, PCs for People; Stacy Wedlake, Research Scientist, Technology and Social Change Group, University of Washington 

10:45-11:45 a.m. - Panel: “Marginalized Women and Social Justice” 

Moderator: Gloria Ayee, Lecturer, Harvard University 

Panelists: Apryl Williams, Assistant Professor, University of Michigan; Meredith Schnug,  Clinical Associate Professor, University of Kansas; Jason Glen, Associate Professor,  University of Kansas 

12:00-12:45 p.m. - “Lessons Learned: NSF Project Team Sharing Session” 

Panelists: Hyunjin Seo, Associate Professor & Director, University of Kansas; Baek-Young Choi, Associate Professor, University of Missouri-Kansas City; Megha Ramaswamy, Professor, University of Kansas; Hannah Britton, Professor, University of Kansas; Jodi Whitt, NSF-AISL Technology Education; Erika, Fittje, NSF-AISL Technology Education 

12:45-1:00 p.m.: Closing/Networking